Senate confirms 9 Resident Electoral Commissioners


Senate on Wednesday confirmed nine nominees to serve as Resident Electoral Commissioners after a report was submitted by the Chairman, Senate Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Senator Suleiman Nazif at the plenary.

The confirmation followed the successful screening of individual nominee at the Committee level.

Those confirmed are:

1. Baba Abba Yusuf Borno
2. Mr. Segun Agbaje Ekiti
3. Elder Monday Udom Tom Akwa Ibom
4. Eric Olawale. Osun
5. Dr. Uthman Abdulrahman. Kwara
6. Dr. Cyril Omorogbe. Edo
7. Yahaya Bello Nasarawa
8. Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart. Rivers
9. Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim. Gombe

In his remarks, Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki sustained the Committee reports, while thanking the Committee for the detailed screening of nominees.

Meanwhile, the joint Committee of the Senate and House of Representatives on reordered elections was read with near uproar by Senators opposed to making presidential election last on the timetable.

As the report was being read by the INEC Committee Chairman, Senator Ovwie Omo-Agege through a point of order asked for rejection, saying, conference report was against traditions of the Senate.

But he was overruled by Senate President, who insisted that it was a normal tradition for conference reports to be read.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here