Former INEC boss, Jega gets new appointment


Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State has appointed Prof. Attahiru Jega, former INEC Chairman, as chairman of a Committee for the establishment of Yusuf Maitama-Sule Centre for Advancement of Politics and Democratic Governance.

A statement by Mallam Muhammad Garba, Commissioner for Information in the state, announced the appointment on Thursday in Kano.

The News Agency of Nigeria quoted Garba as saying that the governor inaugurated members of the 15-man committee, including Justice Mamman Nasir (Galadiman Katsina), Alhaji Bashir Tofa, Prof. Mustapha Ahmad (Vice Chancellor, Yusuf Maitama Sule University).

Others are Prof. Shehu Musa, Vice Chancellor, Kano State University of Science and Technology, Prof. Sule Bello and Prof. Dahiru Yahaya.

Also, Mr Mansur Ahmed, Tajuddeen Aminu Dantata, Mr Ibrahim Haruna, Alhaji Muhtari Hassan, Alhaji Muhtari Maitama and a representative of Kano Emirate Council are members.

He said that the establishment of the centre was a tribute to late Sule’s immense contributions to political and democratic development in the north as well as Nigeria at large.

Garba added that Office of the Secretary to the State Government would provide the secretary for the committee.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here